top of page

Queer Books for D&D Nerds

Updated: Jan 8, 2023

This month we're taking a look at queer fantasy books and graphic novels perfect for lovers of Dungeons and Dragons and TTRPGs. Gather your party, take a long rest and make sure you've replenished your spell slots, it's time for an adventure! Here are 12 of the best LGBTQ+ books for DnD nerds:


1. The Unspoken Name

Age rating: 17+


The Unspoken Name is an action-packed adult fantasy novel with a full cast of LGBT characters: a lesbian orc warrior, a badass sapphic mage and queer side characters with a slow-burn F/F romance. An immersive fantasy about fate, sacrifice and power. (Book 2 of the series was released earlier this year).


- Escapist fantasy

- Lesbian orcs and sapphic mages

- Queer found Family



2. A Dark And Hollow Star

Age rating: 17+


A Dark and Hollow Star is the first in a series of extremely queer high fantasy novels that follow a cast of lesbian, gay, bisexual, genderfluid, pansexual and questioning teens as they band together to find a seriel killer and save both the faerie and human worlds from destruction. (Book 2 is out now).


- Faeries, fantasy, and gays

- Find the killer, save the world

- Immortal-trapped-in-teenage-body



3. Legends & Lattes

Age rating: 17+


Legends and Lattes is a queer and cosy high fantasy novel with low stakes, a double-shot of self-reinvention and a very sweet, slow-burn sapphic romance. The book follows Viv, an orc barbarian, tired of the warrior life as she decides to open a coffee shop in the town of Thune. A heartwarming and lovable character-driven story about coffee and found family.


- Cosy coffee shop romance

- Fantasy slice-of-life novel

- Orc meets succubus 💕



4. The Adventure Zone

Age rating: 15+


The Adventure Zone is role-playing adventure graphic novel series based on the hit podcast of the same name. Follow Taako the elf wizard, Merle the dwarf cleric, and Magnus the human warrior as they're guided by their snarky DM on an adventure they're REALLY not ready for.


- Ambigously German warlocks

- Fire wolves

- "Abraca- Fuck you!"



5. WYND

Age rating: 12+


WYND is a magical queer YA high fantasy adventure comic with achillean main characters by James Tynion IV. The graphic novel follows Wynd, a teenager growing up in a town where magic is illegal and is forced to hide his pointy ears for fear of being hunted down and killed by order of the king.

- High fantasy comic

- Gay protagonist

- Secret hidden magic



6. Master Of One

Age rating: 14+


Master of one is a fast-paced and funny YA fantasy adventure with an Achillean fae/thief slow-burn romance. The book follows Rags, a thief who is one day caught by the Queensguard and forced to find an ancient fae relic for a sadistic royal sorcerer. Indiana Jones meets Six Of Crows.


- Handsome fae prince

- Dumbass with a heart of gold

- Slow-burn queer romance



7. Rat Queens

Age rating: 16+


Rat Queens is a lighthearted fantasy adventure series of graphic novels following a group of booze-guzzling, death-dealing battle maidens-for-hire as they fight, drink and screw their way through a series of quests and kill anyone who gets in their way.


- Queer fantasy adventure series

- Mages and clerics and fighters, oh my!

- Murder hobos for hire



8. Not Good For Maidens

Age rating: 16+


Not good For Maidens is a dark, mysterious and often gruesome YA fantasy horror with an ace protagonist and LGBTQ+ representation throughout. It's a book about an ancient labyrinth-like goblin market, bargains gone wrong, and the feeling like you don't belong... also sapphic witches


- Goblin markets

- Two stories 17 years apart

- Dark and gory queer YA horror



9. They Came To Slay: Queer Culture of DnD

Age rating: 17+


They Came to Slay is a queer non-fiction book about the history of Dungeons & Dragons within queer culture, and how the game became such a powerful mechanic for queer people. The book examines how DnD allows queer people to explore how they want to lead their lives in real and imagined worlds alike.


- Queer non-fiction

- Dungeons & Dragons but make it gay

- Exploration of identity



10. Nimona

Age rating: 12+


Nimona is a queer YA fantasy adventure graphic novel following a young, badass shapeshifter named Nimona . Along with Lord Ballister Blackheart (a villain with a vendetta), this duo are about to wreak some serious havoc and prove to the kingdom that the Institution of Law Enforcement and Heroics isn't as heroic as everyone may think.


- Villains vs heroes

- Shapeshifting badass

- ND Stevenson is a genius



11. The Shadow Glass

Age rating: 17+


The Shadow Glass is an 80s-inspired urban fantasy adventure novel set in modern-day London - perfect for fans of books like Labyrinth and The Dark Crystal. After a freak storm, the puppets are alive... and they're looking for the shadow glass. It's a fast-paced, exhilarating novel filled with puppets, peril and paladins.


- Modern-day Dark Crystal

- 80s-inspired fantasy adventure

- Gay sidekick



12. Real Hero Shit

Age rating: 18+


Real Hero Shit is a fast-paced and funny fantasy adventure comic book following an adventuring party of LGBT heroes. Prince Eugene has decided that he wants to be a hero, but after joining a mysterious rogue, an angsty mage and a beefy nonbinary cleric on their quest, he starts to realise that this hero stuff isn't quite what he had expected.


- Pansexual teifling prince

- Dysfunctional adventuring party

- Flirty and fun




Want to write about queer nerdy stuff? Send us a message on twitter @ProudGeekStore or email us at contact@proud-geek.co.uk

2,318 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


can we not deadname ND Stevenson please? 😞

https://www.imfineimfine.com/p/nate

Like
Proud Geek
Proud Geek
Jul 15, 2022
Replying to

Apologies, I hadn't realised. It's been corrected and the cover image has been replaced with the correct author name.

Like