10 LGBTQ+ Comics & Graphic Novels We're Excited To Read In 2021

Updated: Jan 19


Love queer comics? Here are 10 LGBTQ+ graphic novels and trade paperbacks we're excited to read in 2021 - including trade paperbacks, graphic novels, sequels and Kickstarter projects.


WYND BOOK ONE: FLIGHT OF THE PRINCE TP - 10 Jun 2021


Wynd seems like a regular boy in the fantastical world of Esseriel, except he's got a magical secret. Now he's set off on a journey with his best friend and the boy of his dreams to discover the magic in the world around him and, most importantly, within himself. YOU CAN'T FIND YOUR HOME UNTIL YOU FIND YOURSELF. Wynd lives a quiet life in Pipetown -- working at the local tavern, out of sight in the secret rooms beneath the floorboards, often stealing away to catch glimpses of the son of the castle's groundskeeper as he works. But Wynd also has a secret... magical blood betrayed by his pointed ears, forbidden within the city limits. His shaggy hair has obscured them for most of his life, but now that Wynd is a teenager they are growing too unwieldy to hide. Joined by his best friend Oakley and Thorn, the groundskeeper's son, Wynd's strange dreams and an encounter with the city guard send him on the most dangerous adventure he could imagine, where Wynd will discover the magic in the world around him and, most importantly, the magic within himself. The GLAAD Award-winning team of writer James Tynion IV (Batman, The Woods) and artist Michael Dialynas (The Woods) present a new young adult fantasy series about learning to spread your wings no matter the dangers that life puts in your way.


LONELY RECEIVER TP - 20 Apr 2021


A Horror/Breakup Story in Five Parts.


Catrin Vander, a lonely video producer, buys an Artificial Intelligence partner that’s meant to bond for life. After ten years together, her holographic wife suddenly disconnects without a warning. The breakup drives Catrin to the point of near insanity. She’s alone for the first time in years and reeling from a loss she can’t comprehend. Set in the new future, drenched in pastels and sunshine, Lonely Receiver is a horror/breakup story in five parts. Written by Zac Thompson (UNDONE BY BLOOD, THE REPLACER, HER INFERNAL DESCENT, No One’s Rose, X-Men) and illustrated in colour by Jen Hickman (MOTH & WHISPER, Test).


GIRL HAVEN GN – 16 Feb 2021


When seventh-grader Ash, his crush Eleanor, and their friends are transported to a girls-only imaginary world, Ash must come to terms with the fact that he may actually be a transgender girl. Full of wonder, humour, and heart, Girl Haven is the newest original story from the author of Lumberjanes. Three years ago, Ash's mom, Kristin, left home and never came back. Now, Ash lives in the house where Kristin grew up. All of her things are there. Her old room, her old clothes, and the shed, where she spent her childhood creating a fantasy world called Koretris. Ash knows all about Koretris: how it's a haven for girls, with no men or boys allowed, and filled with fanciful landscapes and creatures. When Ash's friends decide to try going to Koretris, using one of Kristin's spellbooks, Ash doesn't think anything will happen. But the spell works, and Ash discovers that the world Kristin created is actually a real place, with real inhabitants and very real danger. But if Koretris is real, why is Ash there? Everyone has always called Ash a boy. Ash uses he/him pronouns. Shouldn't the spell have kept Ash out? And what does it mean if it let Ash in?


BULLISH GN - Winter 2021


Bullish is a queer, monstrous, adult romance set in the mid-century Texas Panhandle. It is a story where fantasy and horror meet a torrid Western romance, full of betrayal, terrifying power, and the struggle of two men rebuilding their relationship.


The story focuses on the beginning of a new romance between two men in the fictional town of Labrinne, TX. Bill Black, a newly-arrived outsider in search of temporary work, meets Javier Rosales, the well-beloved owner of the town's sprawling ranch. Almost immediately, the two men find in each other a curious rapport, and Javier hires him on to help at the ranch. Weeks turn to months and a temporary hire turns into a budding relationship. However, when Javier discovers what appears to be his farmhand-turned-lover looting his safe in the dead of night, he's devastated. Pain quickly turns to anger, and Bill soon discovers his partner possesses terrifying magical power as he is brutally cursed into the form of the infamous Minotaur of Greco-Roman myth.


CROC & ROLL TP - March 2021


The all-new, all rockin' all crocin' comic from Eisner award-winning creator of Deadendia and Pantheon, Hamish Steele! It's Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles meets Jem & The Holograms meets Scott Pilgrim vs The World vs... big gay alligator tears!?


Mayday Mendez has hit rock bottom. She needs a band to manage, and when a quartet of magical, singing crocodilians fall into her lap, she's not gonna be picky! They may not be her ticket to stardom, but they'll be her first step toward self-love!


Croc & Roll explores modern masculinity, queer love and identity and the struggle of turning your hobby into a job. Each issue focuses on a different member of the band, with a strong focus on them working through their emotions and (excuse me for sounding like a Saturday morning cartoon) the importance of friendship.


MY LIFE IN TRANSITION: A SUPER LATE BLOOMER COLLECTION GN - 16 Feb 2021


The follow-up to the critically acclaimed autobiographical comics collection Super Late Bloomer, documenting transgender artist Julia Kaye's life post-transition. My Life in Transition is a story that's not often told about trans lives: what happens beyond the early days of transition. Both deeply personal and widely relatable, this collection illustrates six months of Julia's life as an out trans woman - the beauty and pain of love and heartbreak, struggling to find support from bio family and the importance of chosen family, moments of dysphoria and misgendering, learning to lean on friends in times of need, and finding peace in the fact that life keeps moving forward. After the nerve-wracking, anxiety-ridden early transition period has ended and the hormones have done their thing, this book shows how you can be trans and simply exist in society. You can be trans and have a successful future. You can be trans and have a normal life full of ups and downs. In our current political and social climate, this hopeful, accessible narrative about trans lives is both entertaining and vital.


JULIET TAKES A BREATH GN - 7 Jan 2021


The graphic novel adaptation of the hit LGBT+ coming of age novel! Juliet Milagros Palante is leaving the Bronx and headed to Portland, Oregon. She just came out to her family and isn't sure if her mom will ever speak to her again. But don't worry, Juliet has something kinda resembling a plan that'll help her figure out what it means to be Puerto Rican, lesbian and out. See, she's going to intern with Harlowe Brisbane - her favourite feminist author, someone whose last work on feminism, self-love and lots of other things will help Juliet find her ever-elusive epiphany. There's just one problem-Harlowe's white, not from the Bronx and doesn't have the answers. Okay, maybe that's more than one problem but Juliet never said it was a perfect plan... Critically-acclaimed writer Gabby Rivera adapts her bestselling novel alongside artist Celia Moscote in an unforgettable queer coming-of-age story exploring race, identity and what it means to be true to your amazing self. Even when the rest of the world doesn't understand.


HEARTSTOPPER: VOLUME 4 GN - 16 May 2021


Boy meets boy. Boys become friends. Boys fall in love.


The bestselling LGBTQ+ graphic novel about life, love, and everything that happens in between - this is the fourth volume of Heartstopper, for fans of The Art of Being Normal, Holly Bourne and Love, Simon.


Charlie didn’t think Nick could ever like him back, but now they’re officially boyfriends. Charlie’s beginning to feel ready to say those three little words: I love you. Nick’s been feeling the same, but he’s got a lot on his mind - not least coming out to his dad, and the fact that Charlie might have an eating disorder.


Heartstopper is about love, friendship, loyalty and mental illness. It encompasses all the small stories of Nick and Charlie’s lives that together make up something larger, which speaks to all of us.


THE TEA DRAGON TAPESTRY GN - 01 Jun 2021.


Join Greta and Minette once more for the heartwarming conclusion of the award-winning Tea Dragon series! Over a year since being entrusted with Ginseng's care, Greta still can't chase away the cloud of mourning that hangs over the timid Tea Dragon. As she struggles to create something spectacular enough to impress a master blacksmith in search of an apprentice, she questions the true meaning of crafting and the true meaning of caring for someone in grief. Meanwhile, Minette receives a surprise package from the monastery where she was once training to be a prophetess.


Thrown into confusion about her path in life, the shy and reserved Minette finds that the more she opens her heart to others, the more clearly she can see what was always inside. Told with the same care and charm as the previous instalments of the Tea Dragon series, The Tea Dragon Tapestry welcomes old friends and new into a heartfelt story of purpose, love, and growth.


THAT FULL MOON FEELING ONE SHOT - 03 Feb 2021


A witch and a werewolf go on three disastrous dates in this magical queer romantic-comedy.


From queer cartoonist and illustrator Ashley Robin comes the vibrant and magical adventure: That Full Moon Feeling. Follow along with Suzy & Jada as they navigate online dating awkwardness, hungry monsters, jealous exes, rude skeletons, boring movies, feelings (!!!), and more!


If you're a lover of all things spooky, cute and queer then this one-shot comic is for you!



Let us know what you're looking forward to reading this year in the comments below:


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

PROUD GEEK

07544014045

Payments Types Accepted:

MasterCard, Visa, American Express, PayPal

©2021 by Proud Geek. Proudly created with Wix.com